MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#47
Jordan Montgomery
ERA W-L K
4.00 7-6 118
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 6-6 / 225 NFBC ADP: 548.03
Position: SPBorn: 12/27/1992 Birthplace: Sumter, South Carolina
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 4th Round by Yankees (2014)


Latest News
Aug. 14 8:13 AM PT9:13 AM MT10:13 AM CT11:13 AM ET11:13 ET15:13 GMT23:13 8:13 AM MST10:13 AM EST10:43 AM VEN19:13 UAE10:13 AM CT-Jordan Montgomery allowed one run on two hits and three walks in 5.1 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Boston Red Sox 3-2 on Sunday. Montgomery struck out four, ending the game with a 3.94 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Montgomery typically isn't very effective past five or six innings, but is he's used right, he's a good No. 5 starter. He's gone at least five while allowing only one run in three of his last four starts.
Aug. 12 2:32 PM PT3:32 PM MT4:32 PM CT5:32 PM ET17:32 ET21:32 GMT5:32 2:32 PM MST4:32 PM EST5:02 PM VEN1:32 UAE (+1)4:32 PM CT-Montgomery is in uniform Saturday after being hit in the head by a flyball while signing autographs as the Red Sox took batting practice. The Yankees said Montgomery was expected to make his start Sunday night against Boston ace Chris Sale.
Analysis: Montgomery was in foul territory far down the right field line and behind a protective screen when the ball flew over and struck him. He got help leaving the field. Montgomery is 7-6 with a 4.05 ERA in 21 starts since making his major league debut this season. The lefty recently lost his rotation spot and was sent to the minors when the Yankees traded for Sonny Gray and Jaime Garcia. He was recalled from Triple-A when CC Sabathia was put on the DL on Friday.
Aug. 10 5:12 PM PT6:12 PM MT7:12 PM CT8:12 PM ET20:12 ET0:12 GMT8:12 5:12 PM MST7:12 PM EST7:42 PM VEN4:12 UAE (+1)7:12 PM CT-Yankees left-hander CC Sabatthia was put on the 10-day disabled list because of right knee inflammation and Montgomery was recalled from Triple-A Scranton/Wilkes-Barre.
Analysis: Montgomery, 7-6 with a 4.05 ERA in 21 starts, figures to take Sabathia's turn Sunday against the Red Sox. Montgomery was sent down Sunday in an attempt to limit his innings. New York wants Montgomery, currently at 115 2/3 innings after setting a career high with 139 1/3 innings at Double-A Trenton and Scranton last season.
Aug. 8 3:12 PM PT4:12 PM MT5:12 PM CT6:12 PM ET18:12 ET22:12 GMT6:12 3:12 PM MST5:12 PM EST5:42 PM VEN2:12 UAE (+1)5:12 PM CT-New York Yankees rookie Jordan Montgomery was demoted to the minor leagues in an attempt to limit his innings.
Analysis: New York acquired Sonny Gray and Jaime Garcia ahead of the July 31 trade deadline, and they will remain in the rotation with Luis Severino, Masahiro Tanaka, and CC Sabathia.
Aug. 6 9:14 PM PT10:14 PM MT11:14 PM CT12:14 AM ET0:14 ET4:14 GMT12:14 9:14 PM MST11:14 PM EST11:44 PM VEN8:14 UAE11:14 PM CT-Jordan Montgomery allowed one run on three hits in 5.0 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Cleveland Indians 2-1 on Saturday. Montgomery struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.05 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Montgomery was very sharp in what may be his last start for a while, as the rookie is believed to be the odd man out following New York's recent acquisitions of Sonny Gray and Jaime Garcia. The 24-year-old's fantasy potential will be far less if he's indeed shifted to a long relief role.
July 30 3:22 PM PT4:22 PM MT5:22 PM CT6:22 PM ET18:22 ET22:22 GMT6:22 3:22 PM MST5:22 PM EST5:52 PM VEN2:22 UAE (+1)5:22 PM CT-Montgomery fell to 7-6, allowing four runs on six hits and two walks in 2.2 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 5-3 on Sunday. Montgomery struck out five, ending the game with a 4.15 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: He started just six of 16 batters with strikes.
July 25 7:02 PM PT8:02 PM MT9:02 PM CT10:02 PM ET22:02 ET2:02 GMT10:02 7:02 PM MST9:02 PM EST9:32 PM VEN6:02 UAE (+1)9:02 PM CT-Jordan Montgomery improved to 7-5, allowing one run on two hits and one walk in 6.2 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Cincinnati Reds 4-2 on Tuesday. Montgomery struck out six, ending the game with a 3.92 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Montgomery took a no-hit try into the sixth inning to bounce back after allowing six runs in a loss at Minnesota on Wednesday.
July 19 2:43 PM PT3:43 PM MT4:43 PM CT5:43 PM ET17:43 ET21:43 GMT5:43 2:43 PM MST4:43 PM EST5:13 PM VEN1:43 UAE (+1)4:43 PM CT-Jordan Montgomery fell to 6-5, allowing six runs on seven hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Minnesota Twins 6-1 on Wednesday. Montgomery struck out three, ending the game with a 4.09 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
July 14 8:43 PM PT9:43 PM MT10:43 PM CT11:43 PM ET23:43 ET3:43 GMT11:43 8:43 PM MST10:43 PM EST11:13 PM VEN7:43 UAE (+1)10:43 PM CT-Jordan Montgomery allowed three runs on six hits and three walks in 4.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Boston Red Sox 5-4 on Friday. Montgomery struck out three, ending the game with a 3.78 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
July 8 9:42 PM PT10:42 PM MT11:42 PM CT12:42 AM ET0:42 ET4:42 GMT12:42 9:42 PM MST11:42 PM EST12:12 AM VEN8:42 UAE11:42 PM CT-Jordan Montgomery allowed two runs on seven hits in 4.1 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 9-4 on Friday. Montgomery struck out four, ending the game with a 3.65 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
July 2 9:57 AM PT10:57 AM MT11:57 AM CT12:57 PM ET12:57 ET16:57 GMT0:57 9:57 AM MST11:57 AM EST12:27 PM VEN20:57 UAE11:57 AM CT-Jordan Montgomery allowed three runs on five hits and one walk in 5.1 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Houston Astros 7-6 on Saturday. Montgomery struck out four, ending the game with a 3.62 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The rookie performed well enough to position himself for a third straight winning start, but the Yankees bullpen coughed up a 6-3 lead in the eighth inning. Despite giving up seven homers over his last five outings, Montgomery is 3-0 with a respectable 3.52 ERA during that stretch.
June 27 8:57 AM PT9:57 AM MT10:57 AM CT11:57 AM ET11:57 ET15:57 GMT23:57 8:57 AM MST10:57 AM EST11:27 AM VEN19:57 UAE10:57 AM CT-Jordan Montgomery improved to 6-4, allowing one run on five hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Chicago White Sox 6-5 on Monday. Montgomery struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.53 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Montgomery improved to 4-0 with a 2.59 ERA over his last five starts. ''We're really happy with what he's doing,'' manager Joe Girardi said. ''He usually gives us pretty good distance and continues to grow as pitcher.''
June 22 8:30 AM PT9:30 AM MT10:30 AM CT11:30 AM ET11:30 ET15:30 GMT23:30 8:30 AM MST10:30 AM EST11:00 AM VEN19:30 UAE10:30 AM CT-Jordan Montgomery improved to 5-4, allowing two runs on five hits and two walks in 5.2 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Los Angeles Angels 8-4 on Wednesday. Montgomery struck out five, ending the game with a 3.74 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Montgomery has been brutal on lefties, holding them to a .162 average.
June 16 11:47 AM PT12:47 PM MT1:47 PM CT2:47 PM ET14:47 ET18:47 GMT2:47 11:47 AM MST1:47 PM EST2:17 PM VEN22:47 UAE1:47 PM CT-Jordan Montgomery allowed four runs on seven hits and one walk in 5.2 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Oakland Athletics 8-7 on Thursday. Montgomery struck out five, ending the game with a 3.78 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
June 9 8:28 PM PT9:28 PM MT10:28 PM CT11:28 PM ET23:28 ET3:28 GMT11:28 8:28 PM MST10:28 PM EST10:58 PM VEN7:28 UAE (+1)10:28 PM CT-Jordan Montgomery improved to 4-4, allowing two runs on five hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 8-2 on Friday. Montgomery struck out a career-high eight, ending the game with a 3.55 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The rookie turned in a second straight impressive outing against an AL East rival, as he held the Blue Jays to three hits over six scoreless innings last Saturday. Montgomery continues to give the Yankees solid work, having compiled a 2-1 record with a 1.50 ERA and 24 strikeouts over his last four starts.
June 3 2:25 PM PT3:25 PM MT4:25 PM CT5:25 PM ET17:25 ET21:25 GMT5:25 2:25 PM MST4:25 PM EST4:55 PM VEN1:25 UAE (+1)4:25 PM CT-Jordan Montgomery improved to 3-4, allowing three hits and three walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 7-0 on Saturday. Montgomery struck out five, ending the game with a 3.67 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The rookie left-hander has a 1.06 ERA in his last three starts while posting a 1-1 record.
May 29 1:38 PM PT2:38 PM MT3:38 PM CT4:38 PM ET16:38 ET20:38 GMT4:38 1:38 PM MST3:38 PM EST4:08 PM VEN0:38 UAE (+1)3:38 PM CT-Jordan Montgomery fell to 2-4, allowing three runs - one earned - on eight hits and one walk in 4.1 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Baltimore Orioles 3-2 on Monday. Montgomery struck out five, ending the game with a 4.11 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The rookie left-hander is 0-3 with a 4.50 ERA in his last four starts.
May 23 7:22 PM PT8:22 PM MT9:22 PM CT10:22 PM ET22:22 ET2:22 GMT10:22 7:22 PM MST9:22 PM EST9:52 PM VEN6:22 UAE (+1)9:22 PM CT-Jordan Montgomery allowed one run on two hits in 6.2 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Kansas City Royals 6-2 on Tuesday. Montgomery struck out six, ending the game with a 4.30 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The rookie left-hander bounced back after dropping his previous two starts behind a 7.36 ERA.
May 19 9:06 AM PT10:06 AM MT11:06 AM CT12:06 PM ET12:06 ET16:06 GMT0:06 9:06 AM MST11:06 AM EST11:36 AM VEN20:06 UAE11:06 AM CT-Jordan Montgomery fell to 2-3, allowing five runs on four hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Kansas City Royals 5-1 on Thursday. Montgomery struck out four, ending the game with a 4.81 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
May 12 7:29 PM PT8:29 PM MT9:29 PM CT10:29 PM ET22:29 ET2:29 GMT10:29 7:29 PM MST9:29 PM EST9:59 PM VEN6:29 UAE (+1)9:29 PM CT-Jordan Montgomery fell to 2-2, allowing four runs on eight hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Houston Astros 5-1 on Friday. Montgomery struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.19 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Montgomery isn't putting up spectacular numbers, but he has lasted at least six innings in four of his last five starts. The rookie gets a seemingly easier spot when he faces the last-place Royals in Kansas City on Thursday.
May 6 8:55 PM PT9:55 PM MT10:55 PM CT11:55 PM ET23:55 ET3:55 GMT11:55 8:55 PM MST10:55 PM EST11:25 PM VEN7:55 UAE (+1)10:55 PM CT-Jordan Montgomery improved to 2-1, allowing three runs - two earned - on three hits and four walks in 6.2 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Chicago Cubs 11-6 on Saturday. Montgomery struck out three.
Analysis: The rookie left-hander may not have a ton of fantasy upside, but he's cementing a place in the Yankees' rotation by posting a respectable 3.81 ERA through his first five major league starts.
Apr. 30 4:36 PM PT5:36 PM MT6:36 PM CT7:36 PM ET19:36 ET23:36 GMT7:36 4:36 PM MST6:36 PM EST7:06 PM VEN3:36 UAE (+1)6:36 PM CT-Jordan Montgomery allowed three runs on three hits and four walks in 5.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Baltimore Orioles 7-4 on Sunday. Montgomery struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.15 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 3:19 PM PT4:19 PM MT5:19 PM CT6:19 PM ET18:19 ET22:19 GMT6:19 3:19 PM MST5:19 PM EST5:49 PM VEN2:19 UAE (+1)5:19 PM CT-Montgomery pitched well despite taking the loss Sunday in Pittsburgh, where he was touched for two runs on seven hits and struck out five in six innings.
Analysis: The rookie left-hander may not have a ton of fantasy upside, but he's cementing a place in the Yankees' rotation by posting a respectable 3.78 ERA through his first three major league starts. Next up is a first-ever meeting with the AL East-leading Orioles on Saturday at Yankee Stadium.
Apr. 17 8:17 PM PT9:17 PM MT10:17 PM CT11:17 PM ET23:17 ET3:17 GMT11:17 8:17 PM MST10:17 PM EST10:47 PM VEN7:17 UAE (+1)10:17 PM CT-Montgomery took a shutout into the seventh inning for his first major league win and the Yankees romped to their eighth consecutive victory by beating the Chicago White Sox 7-4 on Monday night.
Analysis: Montgomery allowed a three-run home run to Yolmer Sanchez in the seventh among seven hits in six-plus innings. Possessing better fastball command than in his major league debut Wednesday against the Tampa Bay Rays, Montgomery threw first-pitch strikes to 19 hitters but appeared to tire in the seventh. The left-hander threw 88 pitches and helped the Yankees win eight straight for the first time since June 8-18, 2012.
Apr. 10 2:53 PM PT3:53 PM MT4:53 PM CT5:53 PM ET17:53 ET21:53 GMT5:53 2:53 PM MST4:53 PM EST5:23 PM VEN1:53 UAE (+1)4:53 PM CT-Montgomery has earned the fifth starter's job in the New York Yankees' rotation and is scheduled to make his major league debut on Wednesday night against the Tampa Bay Rays.
Analysis: A 24-year-old left-hander selected in the fourth round of the 2014 amateur draft, Montgomery had a 3.20 ERA in two starts and four relief appearances during spring training, striking out 17 and walking three in 19 2/3 innings. Montgomery beat out more established pitchers in a group that included Luis Cessa, Chad Green and Bryan Mitchell.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2017 NYY 7 6 0 - 0 23 23 0 126.0 114 60 56 18 40 0 118 1.22 4.00
Career 7 6 0 - 0 23 23 0 126.0 114 60 56 18 40 0 118 1.22 4.00

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2017 NYY 23 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 2 0 0 .000 .400 .000
Career 23 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 2 0 0 .000 .400 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 863 95 89 91.9 42.04
Curveball 516 85 76 80.4 25.13
Slider 251 89 82 85.7 12.23
Changeup 423 87 80 84.1 20.6

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.